MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF COUNCIL OF THE SUMMER VILLAGE OF VAL QUENTIN IN THE PROVINCE OF ALBERTA, HELD ON WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 18, 2023 AT SUNSET POINT MULTI PURPOSE FACILITY IN THE SUMMER VILLAGE OF SUNSET POINT, AB COMMENCING AT 7:00 P.M.

ATTENDANCE Councillor Kathy Dion

Councillor Alan Christainsen

Councillor Roger Montpellier (Via Zoom)

Municipal Administrator Marlene Walsh (Via Zoom)

Shantelle Walsh

DEM Janice Christainsen

Dave R. McLennan, Resident (Via Zoom)

CALL TO ORDER The meeting was called to order at 7:05 p.m. by Municipal

Administrator Marlene Walsh.

ACCEPTANCE OF
AGENDA
The Agenda for the meeting, was accepted as presented by Deputy Mayor Alan Christiansen.

Res. #77 23-10-18 CARRIED

ELECTION OF Councillor Roger Montpellier nominated **MAYOR:** Kathy Dion for the position of Mayor.

Res. #78 23-10-18 No other nominations were presented. Nominations ceased.

Kathy Dion was declared Mayor of the

Summer Village of Val Quentin. CARRIED

ELECTION OF Councillor Roger Montpellier nominated

DEPUTY MAYOR: Alan Christiansen for the position of Deputy-Mayor.

Res. #79 23-10-18 No other nominations were presented. Nominations ceased.

Alan Christiansen was declared Deputy-Mayor of the

Summer Village of Val Quentin. CARRIED

Mayor Kathy Dion took over the chair of the

meeting.

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE APPOINTEE'S

Highway 43 Regional Waste Commission

Deputy-Mayor Alan Christiansen

Alternate: Councillor Roger Montpellier

Tri Village Regional Sewer Services Commission

Deputy-Mayor Alan Christiansen Councillor Roger Montpellier

West Inter Lake District Regional Water Commission

Deputy-Mayor Alan Christiansen

Alternate: Councillor Roger Montpellier

Yellowhead Regional Library Appointee

Mayor Kathy Dion

Alberta Beach Library Appointee

Mayor Kathy Dion

Emergency Management Committee Agency Appointee

Councillor Roger Montpellier

Alternate Kathy Dion

Director of Emergency Management

Janice Christiansen

Onoway Regional Medical Clinic

Councillor Roger Montpellier Alternate: Mayor Kathy Dion

Beachwave Park

Mayor Kathy Dion

Alternate: Councillor Roger Montpellier

ASVA Committee

Mayor Kathy Dion

Summer Villages Lac Ste Anne County East (SVLSACE)

All

Public Works

Councillor Roger Montpellier Deputy-Mayor Alan Christiansen

Parks Committee

A11

Trail Committee

Councillor Roger Montpellier Deputy-Mayor Alan Christiansen

Development Authority

Development Officer Tony Sonnleitner

ACP Water Distribution Committee Mayor Kathy Dion Councillor Roger Montpellier

Res. #80 23-10-18

Moved by Mayor Kathy Dion that Council accept and approve the appointments. **CARRIED**

APPOINTMENT OF
MUNICIPAL AUDITOR
Res. #81 23-10-18

Moved by Mayor Kathy Dion that Council appoints the accounting firm of Seniuk & Co. Chartered Accountants as the Municipal Auditor. CARRIED

APPOINTMENT OF
MUNICIPAL
LEGAL COUNCIL
Res. #82 23-10-18

Moved by Mayor Kathy Dion that Council appoints the law firm of Reynolds Mirth Richards & Farmer LLP as the Municipal Legal Council. **CARRIED**

APPOINTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTE
Res. #83 23-10-18

Moved by Mayor Kathy Dion that Council appoints the Royal Bank of Canada as the Municipal Financial Institute.

CARRIED

OFFICIAL OFFICE	
Res. #84	23-10-18

Moved by Mayor Kathy Dion that Council appoints

91 Waverley Crescent, Spruce Grove, AB T7X 1P3 as the Official Municipal Office.

CARRIED

REGULAR MEETING OF COUNCIL

Moved by Mayor Kathy Dion that Council set the third Wednesday of the month at 7:00 pm at the Sunset Point Office.

Res. #85 23-10-18

CARRIED

SIGNING AUTHORITY Res. #86 23-10-18

Moved by Mayor Kathy Dion that any 2 of 3 Council Members or the Chief Administrative Officer and 1 Council Member have signing authority. **CARRIED**

ADJOURN

Having no further business, Mayor Kathy Dion adjourned the meeting at 7:21 p.m.

These minutes approved this 18th day of October 2023.

Mayor Kathy Dion Municipal Administrator Marlene Walsh